A great day for my collection!! by sam !!

        2014-08-02 18.08.18

Yesterday I went for a walk through aldenham park and hung around the farm talking to the volunteers. on the walk I found some nice things like a swan eggs and tawny owl feather (feather to be collected later) and I even saw my first ever wild owl, a tawny owl!!

20140801_091630-EFFECTSOne of the volunteers, Ben (14 yr) who I talk t when I got o the aldenham park was working in the restricted access part of the farm and found some REALLY nice stuff for me!! the first time he looked he found THREE skulls, two moorhen skulls, and a corvid skull (jackdaw). THEN he went back on his break to take a look for more and found something I wanted for ages….. a mallard skull!!!! and it was in great condition including bottom jaw only had a little flesh on it !!! Now its nice and clean in my room as it only took one bath in hydrogen peroxide to clean it now it looks great a clean on my shelf.

                              20140802_180333

 

This is the cleaner moorhen (the other one is still cleaning) you can see how small it is and hat it is a perfect cranium with no cracks, it has a sort of antique colour too it:)

 

                             20140802_180427

 

This is the jackdaw skull, jackdaws belong to the corvid family that include magpies rooks jays jackdaws e.t.c, you can see this one has the bill sheath on but no lower jaw.

                          

                             20140802_180149

this is my new favourite skull in my collection it is 11 cm the ideal size of a mallard and it was a male because the remaining feathers were black like the head feathers on a male mallard.

 

                                                   20140802_180928

 

this is the swam egg. you can see where the young swan tried to escape from the egg by pecking at the egg shell 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

